Sea Apple Care????

Baboo11

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am a newbie to SW (55g tank is 2 months old)and the guy at a lfs sold me a sea apple, telling me, "Yeah, you can do that!" I was mortified to get home & start reading up on them - expert care only, "Death in a colorful package," - can kill your whole tank if stressed. I called the guy back & he poo-pooed the info I had read (needless to say, he didn't offer to buy it back!). I've had it about three weeks - seems okay, opens up at least once/day to feed. What I need to know is how to feed it properly. I recently had an ich outbreak, so have moved all fish to a QT. How much & how often should I add phytoplankton to the tank? Help! :squigglemouth:

skinz78

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would agree with the info that you have read, they are for sure an expert only critter, but don't let that deter you, just become an expert!:bigsmile:

I would dose the tank every other day with phyto also you can probably add something like reef snow just in case the apple might eat it too. I would add probably about 1 ml? Just keep an eye on your Phosphates and Nitrates.

m and m

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would not visit that place to spend my money again, I know its part of the buyers obligation to read up on what they buy, but i feel they exploited you. On a better note I dont feel they are death waiting. just keep your parameters straight be careful and watch it. i would say once every two days. < total guess but i would think feeding once a day would raise NO3 and PO4 to much. Key things i would keep in mind that would stress is IMO to watch for

Other fish picking at it
Getting stuck in pumps/overflows
Add top of carefully, allot of Newer people dont have Auto top offs and just dump in RO water witch can stress out because it dont mix right away.
Keeping Alk streight

Mantis

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%